Terri Callahan
KU Public Management Center

KU announces certified public manager program graduates for 2012

Fri, 01/11/2013

TOPEKA – The KU Public Management Center has announced the 2012 graduates of the Kansas Certified Public Manager (CPM) program. The graduation ceremony was Nov. 16, 2012, in the House Chambers at the Kansas State Capitol in Topeka. The 72 students, who began their course in January, represented local, county, state or federal agencies, as well as utilities, from across Kansas, and they participated in classes in Topeka, the Kansas City area and Southwest Kansas.

“CPM students represent the very best in public service,” said Terri Callahan, program manager. “While managing full-time jobs, CPM students and their sponsoring agencies somehow find the time and energy to hone their management skills to improve public service in Kansas.”

The Kansas CPM program is a professional education opportunity for managers working in government agencies, nonprofits and organizations that contract to provide public services and meet community needs. CPM is a nationally accredited management program and certification in which participants develop and strengthen their management skills through a competency-based curriculum. Close to 1,400 CPM graduates have earned the nationally recognized emblem of management excellence through the Kansas program. 2013 will mark the Kansas program’s 20th year.

The program can fill a training gap for staff with significant technical expertise who seek to further their knowledge of current management practices. The Kansas program offers a blended learning approach of classroom hours, online learning and outside assignments to meet 300 hours of structured learning. The curriculum addresses personal and organizational integrity, managing work, leading people, developing self, public service and leadership during times of change. Along the way, participants complete a capstone project focused on an opportunity for cost savings, revenue generation, process improvement or innovation in their workplace.

Participants meet in the classroom two days per month for one year, starting in January. In 2013 CPM will be offered in three locations: Topeka, Olathe and Southwest Kansas. For more information or to apply, visit the KU Public Management Center’s website: or contact Terri Callahan at (785) 296-2353 or

Graduates are listed below:

  • Jay Armbrister, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, Lawrence.
  • Marilyn Atkinson, Kansas Department of Labor, Topeka.
  • Sue Austin, City of El Dorado, El Dorado.
  • Paul Bayless, Kansas Department of Transportation, Office of Information Technology Services, Topeka.
  • David Binckley, City of Olathe- Fire Department, Olathe.
  • Lisa Brown, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, Lawrence.
  • Steven Buchholz, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, Lawrence.
  • Patricia Byers, Kansas State Board of Nursing, Topeka.
  • Brian Clark, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, Olathe.
  • Anita Cooper, Kansas Department for Children and Families, Chanute.
  • Tim Cruz, Kansas Department of Transportation, Garden City.
  • Keith Denton, City of Garden City, Garden City.
  • Rex Flinn, Kansas Department of Transportation, Mankato.
  • Randy Frazer, City of Moundridge, Moudridge.
  • Brenda Gammell, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, New Century.
  • Jon Garrison, City of Pittsburg, Pittsburg.
  • Erin Giebler, City of Hays, Hays.
  • Adrian Guerrero, Kansas State Board of Nursing, Topeka.
  • Travis Haines, City of Hays, Hays.
  • Brian Hayes, Kansas Department of Labor, Topeka.
  • Samuel Henderson, City of Garden City, Garden City.
  • Lisa Johnson, Franklin County, Ottawa.
  • June Karlin, Rooks County Health Center, Plainville.
  • Kathy Keck, Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services, Topeka.
  • Marshall Kennedy, Kansas Commission on Veteran’s Affairs, Topeka.
  • John Lafferty, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, New Century.
  • Kristina Lenoch, U.S. Department of Labor- OSHA, Wichita.
  • Joseph Lewis, Johnson County Motor Vehicle, Olathe.
  • Daniel Lotridge, Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office, Topeka.
  • Scott Marriott, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, Olathe.
  • Randall Mather, City of Olathe, Olathe.
  • Amber McCall, Kansas Department of Transportation, Salina.
  • Kerry McCue, Ellis County Emergency Medical Services, Hays.
  • Rhonda McGuire, University of Kansas Higuchi Biosciences Center, Lawrence.
  • Therese Mersmann, City of Olathe, Olathe.
  • Brad Meyer, City of El Dorado, El Dorado.
  • Daniel Miller, City of Overland Park, Overland Park.
  • David Miller, City of Overland Park, Overland Park.
  • Aubrey Mink, Kansas Neurological Institute, Topeka.
  • Joseph Montague, Kansas Department of Labor, Industrial Health & Safety, Topeka.
  • Aron Montaini, Kansas Department of Revenue, Topeka.
  • Michael Murphy, Kansas Highway Patrol, Hays.
  • Janet Murray, Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry, Lawrence.
  • Jaci Novak, Kansas Department of Transportation, Salina.
  • Teresa Pearson, USDA Rural Development, Topeka.
  • Karlton Place, Kansas Department of Transportation, Ellsworth.
  • Courtney Prewitt, Garden City Police Department, Garden City.
  • Steven Purney, Topeka Police Department, Topeka.
  • Jon Quinday, City of Russell, Russell.
  • Michael Reagle, Garden City Police Department, Garden City.
  • Bradley Robbins, Leawood Police Department, Leawood.
  • Tonya Roberts, City of Olathe, Olathe.
  • Lezli Root, Black Hills Energy, Lawrence.
  • Ronald Rounkles, Hays Police Department, Hays.
  • Michael Rumford, Kansas Bureau of Investigation, Topeka.
  • Anne Sawyer, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Kansas, Lawrence.
  • Gabe Schlickau, Black Hills Energy, Wichita.
  • David Schroeder, Kansas Bureau of Investigation, Topeka.
  • Kimberley Scott, Kansas Neurological Institute, Topeka.
  • Ted Semadeni, City of Lenexa, Lenexa.
  • M. Renee Shackelford, City of Eudora, Eudora.
  • Brad Smiley, City of Canton, Canton.
  • Jessica Snook, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Topeka.
  • Matthew Steging, City of Olathe, Olathe.
  • Chris Stegman, City of Hays, Hays.
  • Nolan Sunderman, City of Lansing, Lansing.
  • S. Zachery Weaver, Administration for Children and Families, United States Department for Health Services, Kansas City.
  • William Wells, Kansas Neurological Institute, Topeka.
  • Andrew Wolff, Douglas County Youth Services, Lawrence.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today