Lisa Webster
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center announces June graduates

Mon, 06/26/2017

YODER – Sixty-three new law enforcement officers were congratulated by Kansas City, Kansas, Chief of Police Terry Ziegler during their graduation from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on June 23.

The new officers were members of the 245th basic training class at the center. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Professional & Continuing Education.

The graduates, who began their training March 20, represented 47 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in the 14-week basic training program. The center offered continuing education and specialized training to as many as 5,600 Kansas officers each year. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state’s general revenue are used to operate the center.

Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by agency:

Allen County

Humboldt Police Department; Nina Froggatte; patrol officer; Humboldt


Atchison County

Atchison County Sheriff's Office; James Stuart; deputy; Atchison


Barber County

Medicine Lodge Police Department; Joshua Small; patrol officer; Medicine Lodge


Bourbon County

Bourbon Co Sheriff's Office; Alvin Metcalf; captain; Fort Scott


Brown County

Iowa Tribal Police Department; Michael Shea; patrol officer; White Cloud


Butler County

Butler County Sheriff's Office; Katrina Cannady; deputy; El Dorado

Butler County Sheriff's Office; John Dixon; deputy; El Dorado

Butler County Sheriff; Brandon Ruth; deputy; El Dorado

Butler County Sheriff's Office; Travis Thornhill; deputy; El Dorado


Cherokee County

Baxter Springs Police Department; Justin Butler; patrol officer; Baxter Springs


Coffey County

Burlington Police Department; Jessica Stice; patrol officer; Burlington


Crawford County

Crawford County Sheriff's Office; Valerio Bevilacqua; deputy; Girard; Crawford County


Dickinson County

Herington Police Department; Walter Moeller; patrol officer; Herington


Douglas County

University of Kansas Police Department; Daniel Affalter; patrol officer; Lawrence

University of Kansas Police Department; Todd Beauford; officer; Lawrence; Douglas County

Eudora Police Department; Cody Galley; patrol officer; Eudora

Eudora Police Department; Michael Rubow; patrol officer; Eudora


Elk County

Elk County Sheriff's Department; Steven Soper; deputy; Howard


Ellis County

Hays Police Department; Christian Fuentes; patrol officer; Hays

Hays Police Department; Stephen Ligon; patrol officer; Hays

Fort Hays State University Police Department; Kelly Whitaker; patrol officer; Hays


Franklin County

Franklin County Sheriff's Office; Nicholas Grey; deputy; Ottawa


Geary County

Geary County Sheriff's Department; Jennifer Hewins; deputy; Junction City


Jewell County

Jewell County Sheriff's Department; Ashley Schinke; deputy; Mankato


Labette County

Parsons Police Department; Brett Ross; patrol officer; Parsons


Lane County

Lane County Sheriff's Office; Jimmie Blackburn; deputy; Dighton


Leavenworth County

Leavenworth County Sheriff's Office; Jackson Perri; deputy; Leavenworth

Leavenworth Police Department; Jake Samuelson; patrol officer; Leavenworth


Linn County

La Cygne Police Department; Kurtis West; patrol officer; La Cygne


Lyon County

Lyon County Sheriff's Office; Nolan Kehres; deputy; Emporia

Emporia Police Department; Russell Patterson; patrol officer; Emporia

Emporia Police Department; Joshua Willems; patrol officer; Emporia


McPherson County

Lindsborg Police Department; Horacio Aldrete; patrol officer; Lindsborg; McPherson County


Meade County

KS Dept of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism; Kyle Burgoon; Park Ranger; Meade


Miami County

Miami County Sheriff's Office; Clint Maynard; sergeant; Paola

Miami County Sheriff's Office; Geoffrey Monceret; deputy; Paola

Miami County Sheriff's Office; Andrew Yeast; deputy; Paola

Miami County Sheriff's Office; Andrea Zaman; deputy; Paola


Nemaha County

Nemaha County Sheriff's Office; Sara Rethman; deputy; Seneca


Pottawatomie County

Pottawatomie County Sheriff's Office; Kevin Clark; deputy; Westmoreland


Rawlins County

Rawlins County Sheriff Office; John Binning; deputy; Atwood


Reno County

Reno County Sheriff's Office; Daniel Wornkey; sergeant; Hutchinson


Riley County

Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism; Robert Gray; ranger; Manhattan

Riley County Police Department; Sarah Hagerty; patrol officer; Manhattan

Riley County Police Department; Edward McNamara; patrol officer; Manhattan


Russell County

Russell County Sheriff's Office; Isaiah Stierlen; deputy; Russell


Saline County

Salina Police Department; Timothy Cooper; patrol officer; Salina

Salina Police Department; Philip Thull; patrol officer; Salina


Scott County

Scott City Police Department; Bradley Ludowese; patrol officer; Scott City


Sedgwick County

Derby Police Department; Hunter Dierks; patrol officer; Derby

Clearwater Police Department; Victor Heiar; patrol officer; Clearwater

Park City Police Department; Cody McCall; patrol officer; Park City

Wichita State University Police Department; Alba Morales; patrol officer; Wichita


Seward County

Liberal Police Department; Dustin Post; patrol officer; Liberal


Shawnee County

National Guard Facilities Police Department; John Williams; patrol officer; Topeka


Sherman County

Goodland Police Department; John Windle; patrol officer; Goodland


Sumner County

Sumner County Sheriff's Office; James Ball; deputy; Wellington


Wyandotte County

University of Kansas Medical Center Police Department; Lyndsey Allen; patrol officer; Kansas City

Wyandotte County Sheriff's Department; Kyle Harvey; sergeant; Kansas City.


A world premiere brought two prestigious @MusicKU ensembles to perform in Washington D.C. #KUleaders (CC)…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today