Jennifer Jackson Sanner
KU Alumni Association

KU to honor 88 high school seniors from 4 North Central Kansas counties

Thu, 09/29/2016

LAWRENCE — Students from 13 Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Oct. 5, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 88 seniors from high schools in Ellsworth, Lincoln, Ottawa and Saline counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the Salina Country Club, 2101 East Country Club Road, Salina.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.

During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary.

Rick Ginsberg, dean of Education at the University of Kansas, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Peter and Sara Johnston, of Salina, are the site coordinators. Jim and Joyce Trower, of Salina, are the Saline County coordinators. Kevin and Barbara Kennedy, of Ellsworth, are the Ellsworth County coordinators. Bob and Sharron Hamilton, of Salina, are the Lincoln and Ottawa County coordinators.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2017 scholars:



Ellsworth High School

Sarina Fay – Holyrood

Malley Jones – Ellsworth

Emma Klein – Ellsworth

Janae Schulte – Ellsworth

Amy Westerman – Ellsworth


Wilson High School

Anna Criswell – Wilson

Aaron Dlabal – Wilson

Trey Fink – Wilson




Lincoln High School

Bjorn Jonsson – Lincoln

Faith Panzer – Lincoln


Sylvan-Lucas Unified High School

Greta Wehrman - Hunter



Bennington High School

Skylar Nelson – Bennington

Ashley Oldham – Bennington

Claire Schmidt – Salina


Minneapolis High School

Mykenzi Allison – Delphos

Logan Nichols – Longford

Kylee Roth – Minneapolis

Lane Sanders – Miltonvale

Carlie Shupe – Minneapolis


Tescott High School

Deidre Evans – Tescott



Ell-Saline High School

Duncan Anglin – Salina

Kodee Christensen – Salina

Levi Harapat – Salina

Megan Northcutt – Salina

Emily Wagner – Brookville


Sacred Heart High School

Abby Markel – Salina

Kelli Ward – Solomon

Rhiannon Wilcox – Salina

Grace Worcester – Salina


Salina Central High School

Tiffany Bair – Salina

Brittany Blackim – Salina

Deriece Burse – Salina

Emma Cain – Salina

Kendra Cole – Salina

Paige Hieger – Salina

Quinn Hill – Salina

Caroline Holgerson – Salina

Hannah Janzen – Salina

Sophia Justus – Salina

Angela Kim – Salina

Casey Knoth – Salina

Angelica Lance – Salina

Hanna Leiker – Salina

Samual Neff – Salina

Emma Norris – Salina

Maddie Nowlin – Salina

Emily Oberle – Salina

Delani Rudacille – Salina

Umar Sandhu – Salina

Abigail Schroeder – Salina

Laurel Thompson – Salina

Dylan Wentzel – Salina


Salina South High School

Gavin Aills – Salina

Jonathan Andrew – Salina

Ethan Bandre – Salina

Analisa Bridge – Salina

Ryan Davis – Salina

Oscar Flores Garcia – Salina

Mason Frost – Salina

Petricia Hall – Salina

Nazly Hernandez Aparicio – Salina

Dylan Kruep – Salina

Brendan Larson – Salina

Alondra Martin-Escobedo – Salina

Logan Maxwell – Salina

Quinn Munk – Salina

Lynn Nguyen – Salina

Logan Peppers – Salina

Kasey Renshaw – Salina

Kylie Roberts – Salina

Tyler Ross – Salina

Morgan Russell – Salina

Samantha Skieff – Salina

Jessica Smith – Salina

Elaine Stineman – Salina

Maddison Teschke – Salina

Tessa Wolf – Salina

Katelynn Zuercher – Salina


Southeast of Saline High School

Bryce Banks – Salina

Sydney Clements – Salina

Kaylen Lassley – Salina

Jackson Montgomery – Salina

Madison Roths – Salina

Kendall Schlesener – Salina

Cedar VanTassel – Gypsum

Mary Winship – Gypsum


St. John's Military School

Daniel Wei – Superior, Colorado

Brendan Myrick – Manhattan.

KU in the news
📝 Writers, do you have questions about language surrounding people with disabilities? @RTCILKansas has just release…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today