Terri Callahan
KU Public Management Center

KU announces Certified Public Manager Program graduates

Tue, 12/17/2013

LAWRENCE – The University of Kansas Public Management Center has announced graduates of the Kansas Certified Public Manager program. The graduation ceremony took place last month in the House Chamber at the Capitol in Topeka.

The 72 graduates, who began their course in January, represented local, county, state, or federal agencies, as well as utilities, from across Kansas and participated in classes held in Topeka, the Kansas City area and Southwest Kansas.

“CPM students represent the very best in public service,” said Terri Callahan, program manager. “While managing full-time jobs, CPM students and their sponsoring agencies somehow find the time and energy to hone their management skills to improve public service in Kansas.”

The Kansas CPM program is a professional education opportunity for managers working in government agencies, nonprofits and organizations that contract to provide public services and meet community needs. CPM is a nationally accredited management program and certification in which participants develop and strengthen their management skills through a competency-based curriculum. Close to 1,500 CPM graduates have earned the nationally recognized emblem of management excellence through the Kansas program, which is currently celebrating its 20th anniversary.

The program can fill a training gap for staff with significant technical expertise who seek to further their knowledge of current management practices. The Kansas program offers a blended learning approach of classroom hours, online learning and outside assignments to meet 300 hours of structured learning. The curriculum addresses personal and organizational integrity, managing work, leading people, developing self, public service and leadership during times of change. Along the way, participants complete a capstone project focused on an opportunity for cost savings, revenue generation, process improvement or innovation in their workplace.

Participants meet in the classroom two days per month for one year, starting in January. In 2014 CPM will be offered in three locations: Topeka, Overland Park and Southeast Kansas (rotating between Independence and Pittsburg). For more information or to apply, visit the KU Public Management Center’s website ( or contact Terri Callahan at or (785) 864-6864.

The list of graduates is below: 

  • Corey Swisher, city of Basehor​
  • Michael Haeffele, city of Beloit
  • Jeff Acton, city of Cimarron
  • Chad Buckley, city of Concordia
  • Andrew Francis, city of Dodge City Police Department
  • Janet Stevens, city of Dodge City Convention Visitors Bureau
  • Steven Freeman, Douglas County Sheriff's Office
  • Lyle Hagenbuch, Douglas County Sheriff's Office
  • Cindy Spriggs, Douglas County Appraiser's Office
  • Amy Carlson, University of Kansas Higuchi Bioscience Center
  • Traci Fullerton, University of Kansas Information Technology
  • Jo Hardesty, University of Kansas Legal Services for Students
  • Jason Patty, city of El Dorado
  • Scott Rickard, city of El Dorado
  • Kevin Schuler, Edwardsville Fire Department
  • Lynn Hobson, Emporia State University
  • Angela Wolgram, Emporia State University
  • Maria Castillo, Finney County Appraiser's Office
  • William Robbins, Franklin County
  • Kelly Stevenson, city of Garden City
  • Roberto Becerril, city of Garden City & city of Lamar, Colorado
  • Matthew Cole, Garden City Police Department
  • Ashley Freburg, city of Garden City
  • Ralph Rochat, city of Garden City
  • David McCarter, city of Garden City
  • Leslie Quillen, city of Gardner
  • Michael Radke, Garden City Police Department
  • Billy Villanueva, city of Garden City
  • Kenneth Murphy, city of Grain Valley
  • Brian Dawson, Hays Police Department
  • Aaron Ditter, city of Hays Fire Department
  • Cameron Johnson, Johnson County Fire District #2
  • Amy Meeker-Berg, Johnson County Government Treasury and Financial Management
  • Christopher Schneweis, Johnson County Government, County Manager’s Office
  • Aaron Skaggs, Johnson County Government Motor Vehicle
  • Kirt Yoder, Leawood Police Department
  • Karri Barker, city of Olathe Police Department
  • Michele Biddison, city of Olathe
  • Kelly Brummett, city of Olathe Solid Waste Division
  • Celia Duran, city of Olathe
  • Gregory Smith, city of Olathe Public Works Division
  • Alysen Abel, city of Overland Park
  • Lorraine Basalo, city of Overland Park Public Works
  • Mark Linn, Shawnee Fire Department
  • Crystal Malchose, Pottawatomie County Administration
  • Linda Johnson, Seward County Event Center
  • Pamela Johnson, Liberal / Seward County Emergency Communications Center
  • Kory Krause, city of Liberal
  • Vanessa Reever, Seward County Clerk's Office
  • Gregory Rice, Seward County
  • Mark Rohlf, Seward County Information Technology
  • Sheena Schmutz, city of Liberal
  • Marcie Weatherly, Seward County Planning & Zoning
  • Kenneth Williams, city of Liberal Wastewater Services
  • Scott Conklin, Topeka Police Department
  • Scott Harrington, Kansas Highway Patrol
  • Brigette Hayes, Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs
  • Mark Malick, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
  • Kelly Ralston, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
  • Douglas Younger, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
  • April Nicholson, Kansas Department of Health & Environment
  • Jennifer M. Schwartz, Kansas Department of Health & Environment
  • Jenifer Hoopes, Kansas Neurological Institute
  • Sara Mock, Kansas Neurological Institute
  • Sheila Rice, Kansas State Board of Nursing
  • Andrew Clemmons, Office of the State Fire Marshal
  • Justin Vest, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office
  • Kimberly Mason, State Board of Indigents' Defense Service
  • Marcia Maurer, KU Public Management Center & Topeka Lutheran School
  • Kelly Bergeron, Workforce Alliance of South Central Kansas
  • James Eickhoff, Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office
  • Ryan Lockamy, Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kan., Department of Community Corrections.

RT @UnivOfKansas : "We stand with you and for you." Read the statement from Chancellor Douglas A. Girod and Provost Barbara Bichelmeyer as…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today