Jill Jess Phythyon
KU News Service

Mortar Board to honor outstanding faculty, staff

Thu, 11/08/2012
More Information

LAWRENCE — A University of Kansas honor society will recognize five faculty and staff members as outstanding educators during an upcoming exhibition basketball game.

Each year, the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board, a senior honor society, recognizes five instructors for their dedication to KU and their positive influence on students both academically and personally.

The recipients of the Outstanding Educator award are:

• William Beedles, professor and director of undergraduate programs at KU School of Business

• Victoria Corbin, associate professor of molecular biosciences

• Tammara Durham, vice provost for student affairs

• David McLeod, director of anatomy labs and lecturer in undergraduate biology

• Kala Stroup, honors emeritus faculty and internship adviser for the KU Honors Program. Stroup was a member of the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board at KU in 1958-59.

Brandon Rogers, a senior from Plano, Texas, and Jordan Crawford, a senior from Topeka, both Mortar Board members, served as a co-chairs for the awards.

The educators will be honored at halftime of the KU-Southeast Missouri State basketball game on Friday, Nov. 9.

RT @kunhm : Happy #FossilFriday ! Here’s a fresh one from the field: a giant crocodilian skull discovered this week by @UnivOfKansas undergra…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today