Lori Springs
Department of Mathematics

KU math department announces award winners

Thu, 05/24/2012
More Information

LAWRENCE – The University of Kansas mathematics department recognized its undergraduate and graduate students and faculty for outstanding academic and teaching achievements at its 55th annual honors banquet April 24 at the KU Adams Alumni Center.

This year the math department presented $75,700 in awards and scholarships. Award winners are announced in the spring. Scholarship recipients will be announced in the fall. Funds for the awards and scholarships are administered through KU Endowment.

Three students received certificates and Jayhawk statues from the Kansas Algebra Program for their outstanding contributions to teaching, tutoring and extra duties. Winners were Christopher Neal, a senior in biology from Kansas City, Mo.; Anna Peterson, a senior in mechanical engineering from Dallas, and Sharon Roeder, a senior in mechanical engineering from Atchison.

KU's math department annually recognizes outstanding graduate students.
Mohamed Badawy, Lawrence, received the Florence Black Award for Excellence in Teaching by a graduate student. The award was established in memory of Black, a faculty member who served from 1918 to 1960.

Seungly Oh, Lawrence, received the John Bunce Award. The Bunce award commemorates a KU math professor who served from 1970 to 1991 and his extraordinary concern for the welfare and intellectual development of graduate students.

Maila Brucal-Hallare, Manila, Philippines, received the Paul F. Conrad Graduate Scholarship. This award is given in his memory. Conrad was the first Henry J. Bischoff Professor of Mathematics.

Andrew Steyer, Brooklyn Park, Minn., received the Ralph Byers Student Award which commemorates a KU math professor who served from 1987 to 2007. The award is presented to an outstanding graduate student in numerical analysis.

William Paschke, professor of mathematics, received the G. Baley Price award for Excellence in Teaching, presented by the Mathematics Graduate Student Organization. This award is given to a faculty member who displays the greatest ability and effectiveness in teaching graduate math courses.

Tyrone Duncan, professor of mathematics, received the Max Wells Teaching Award in recognition of outstanding or exemplary teaching in the field of mathematics by a KU faculty member in mathematics.

Finally, this was the 30th year of the annual mathematics prize examinations given by the Mathematics Department. This competition is open to all undergraduates at KU. The winners of the Junior Level Prize Competition were Ryan Endres, a sophomore in aerospace engineering from Lenexa, for first place; Alexa Varady, a sophomore in mathematics from Leawood, for second place; and Jiaqi Fan, a senior in chemistry from Suzhou, China, for third. Endres also won the top freshman award. The winners for the Senior Level Prize Competition were Tianyu Huang, a junior in mathematics from Shanghai, China, for first place, Bryan Harris, a senior in mathematics from Mission, for second place, and Agre for third.

RT @MikeKrings : I'm proud to be a part of this. Listen to me and my fellow KU News folk talk with world class experts! Hear the cool, brill…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today